Back in the Beginning

March 5, 2008

As I was saying.  When I bought the house it needed everything.  And the first step for me was erasing and cleaning the slate.  After the 92 year old woman died, the family cleaned the place out of anything valuable and left the rest.  This meant a lot of clean up.

For a big clean up project, you need three basic things; water, power, and a place to put all the junk.  The latter is the easiest for a project of this scale.  Get a big dumpster and start filling it.  The power should be as easy as calling your local power co. and have them throw the switch, unless when the dumpster was delivered the wires got pulled form the house causing the entire road to lose power (not recommended for making good first impressions with the neighbors).  The last thing was  the water.  Again, a simple task unless every pipe in the house had at one time froze and split.  Nothing is as easy as it seems.

2 Responses to “Back in the Beginning”

  1. Lou said

    Good thing that was at the beginning and not now! Do you ever think it would have been easier to just knock the whole thing down and start fresh?
    Smile buddy:)

  2. pierre said

    Sometimes I wonder. My original sense was to gutthe whole thing, deal with the mess one time, and then work on renovations. However, I Was influenced by someone else, and that is my biggest regret.

Leave a comment